The Reverend Laura B. Goodwin


The Reverend Laura B. Goodwin was baptized and raised in the Roman Catholic Church but was introduced to the Episcopal Church as a young adult and found her spiritual ‘home’.  As a lay person, she served the church in a variety of ways for many years before she sensed a call to pursue ordained ministry. She received her Masters of Divinity from Wycliffe College in Toronto, Canada and was ordained to the Transitional Deaconate in June 2007. In July 2007 Pastor Laura was called to be Deacon-in-Charge at St. Andrew’s Episcopal Church in North Grafton, Massachusetts. She was ordained to the Priesthood at St. Andrew’s in December 2007 as served as Rector until December 2017. In January 2019 she was called to serve as the first Rector of Holy Spirit in Sutton, the newly-merged congregation formed from the parishes of St. Andrew’s, North Grafton and St. John’s, Sutton.


“My spiritual journey through ordination and the merger of two congregations has taught me that God uses the most unlikely people to do the most extraordinary things for God’s Kingdom, here and now.”

Laura and Todd have been married over 40 years and have two grown sons. They are brand new grandparents and love every minute of it! Laura also loves hiking, kayaking and knitting prayer shawls and baby sweaters.

Lynn Ljunggren

Music Director

Music Director and Organist, Lynn Ljunggren, was baptized and raised in the Roman Catholic Church.  In 1984, after graduating from Shrewsbury High School, she was hired as organist for St. Andrew’s Church in North Grafton, MA.  In 2006 Lynn became the music director as well as continuing as organist. Lynn is also a full time Senior Administrator at Raytheon, and a piano accompanist with children choruses in two of the Shrewsbury elementary schools.


An Army brat, Lynn was born in California and moved to Shrewsbury, MA at the age of 3.  She lived in Germany for three years in the mid-1970s and then returned to Shrewsbury where she currently lives with her husband of 25 years, Robert, and their two daughters, Ashley and Samantha.  She loves spending time with her family and especially traveling around New England to watch both daughters play college hockey.


After 34 years as organist/music director, and with the newly-merged congregation of the St. Andrew’s and St. John’s parishes, Lynn was called to continue her music ministry with Holy Spirit.  “I always knew that I loved music. Now I understand that music and being part of the choir is a way to express my faith.  I love that the music can tell a story and we can share the message through what we sing.”

Joyce Sampson

Parish Secretary

Parish Secretary Joyce Sampson was baptized and raised in the Roman Catholic Church and is currently exploring her spirituality.  She is a lector at Our of Vilna Church in Worcester and is a member of the Millbury Council On Aging.


She has worked for the Town of Millbury since 2006, as a member of the Town Manager’s office for 7 years and now as Assistant Director of Millbury Public Access. Joyce graduated from Millbury High School in 1980, and from the former Briarwood College in CT in 1982.  For over 20 years Joyce worked at several local travel agencies in Worcester County, and in Cambridge, MA and Phoenix, AZ.  She and her husband Harry, a native of Somerville, MA, moved back to Millbury in 1998 so their son could be raised in her hometown.


Over the years she has opened her heart and home to 13 rescue dogs, 1 stray parrot and 1 stranded canary. In her spare time she enjoys reading and her peaceful life on Dorothy Pond.


The Vestry is an elected group of parishioners that are responsible for the general oversight of the church budget and maintenance of the church property.  The Vestry work closely and represent the views and opinions of the church membership. The Vestry and Executive Committee meet monthly. Copies of these meeting minutes can be found on the bulletin board in the Church hall.

Executive Committee

Laura Goodwin, Rector

Sandy Piscitelli, Sr. Warden

Bill Johnston, Sr. Warden

Bob Perkins, Treasurer

Marsha Hudson, Clerk

Members of the Vestry

Deb Fiore

Stephanie Connolly

Brian Yacino

Pat Ainsley-Baker 

Verna Kosiba

Phil St. John

Holy Spirit Episcopal Church



3 Pleasant St.

Sutton, MA 01590

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon